Jump to content



- - - - -

4Afc To 4Age


  • Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 gilly40k

gilly40k

    New Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 38 posts
  • Online:06 Nov 2012 10:40 AM
  • Gender:Male
  • Real Name:Jake

Posted 22 August 2011 - 06:52 PM

hey i am new here i own a toyota corolla ae92 with a 4afc motor 70kws. i want to put a 4age 100kw in it but i am unsure if the block is the same and can i use the gear box and mounts i have? as it is a rebult one if any one can help me it would be great or any ideas? how i can get this to work. please help me

Edited by gilly40k, 22 August 2011 - 10:18 PM.


#2 gilly40k

gilly40k

    New Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 38 posts
  • Online:06 Nov 2012 10:40 AM
  • Gender:Male
  • Real Name:Jake

Posted 27 August 2011 - 11:29 AM

can any one help me?

#3 ae95- wagon kid

ae95- wagon kid

    It's Better to be pissed off than pissed on.

  • Regular Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 208 posts
  • Online:26 Feb 2013 11:14 PM
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:adelaide Australia
  • Real Name:Harry

Posted 29 August 2011 - 03:02 PM

Have a search on this forum there, you could get a engine loom etc to fit easy.

many have done this conversion, just swap the whole motor why have a weaker bottom end when you can just use the 4age one

or for a bit of uniqueness why not plumb up a turbo system and run it through a 32/36 weber :)

run in on 6-7 psi every day

and you could build it on the cheap

Edited by ae95- wagon kid, 29 August 2011 - 03:03 PM.

"Speed has never killed anybody its suddenly becoming stationary, that's what gets you"

#4 ke70dave

ke70dave

    Well Known Member

  • Tech Moderator
  • 3124 posts
  • Online:Today, 08:23 PM
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brisbane 4178

Posted 29 August 2011 - 04:00 PM

with the 4a series of engine (4ac, 4afe, 4age,4agze 16V 20V....) the block mountings and dimensions are physically the same.

if you pull anything 4a out, something 4a will go back in...

with your problem, best to buy a smashed ae92 SX with everythign in it, and compeltely swap it over.

the gearbox will bolt up, but its a bit of a waste of time etc.

best of having it all ready to go.

have a serach on here and twincam.info about the gearboxes, i belive they are C series gearboxes in the FWD corollas, C52 etc. just need to find out the interchangability.
Everyone is entitled to their own opinion, but not to their own facts.

#5 930LLO

930LLO

    That's heaps sick aaaaaaye!!!!!

  • Regular Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 103 posts
  • Online:21 Jun 2014 03:44 PM
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brisborin

Posted 02 October 2011 - 11:41 PM

I've done a few of these conversions before and currently doing one right now the 4age will bolt straight up with the mounts you have from the 4afc, the (4age's C52 gearbox) is the same set up and you can use the CV's boots and shafts from your (C50 gearbox 4afc) the only problem with this conversion is the electrical side. Going from carbie to EFI you need the fuel tank from an SX or GTI and getting the fuel pump to trigger when you turn the ignition on. If you come across any problembs or need some advice msg me on 0424 765 052 I'll be glad to help you out. Ian

Edited by 930LLO, 02 October 2011 - 11:49 PM.

!!GZE PWR!!


#6 gilly40k

gilly40k

    New Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 38 posts
  • Online:06 Nov 2012 10:40 AM
  • Gender:Male
  • Real Name:Jake

Posted 29 October 2011 - 09:41 PM

Ok so I have bolted in motor using my old cvs gear box now fuel lines and tank is my main worry because fuel pump is so different I need to find a tank to fit and wire it up where do I get the tank from and lines and the loom

#7 gilly40k

gilly40k

    New Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 38 posts
  • Online:06 Nov 2012 10:40 AM
  • Gender:Male
  • Real Name:Jake

Posted 02 November 2011 - 06:40 AM

I got talking to a mechanic and he said I have to change k frame because I am putting more power full motor in my k frame won't handle it and it will twist so now I have to find a k frame that will fit?

#8 ke70dave

ke70dave

    Well Known Member

  • Tech Moderator
  • 3124 posts
  • Online:Today, 08:23 PM
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brisbane 4178

Posted 02 November 2011 - 12:36 PM

Your 'mechanic' is an idiot.
Everyone is entitled to their own opinion, but not to their own facts.

#9 carbonboy

carbonboy

    Stickin up for the FWD!

  • Donor
  • 1684 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Melbourne, Vic.
  • Real Name:Luke

  • CC BY-SA (recommended)

Posted 02 November 2011 - 06:25 PM

View Postke70dave, on 02 November 2011 - 12:36 PM, said:

Your 'mechanic' is an idiot.

+1 on this! :yes:

2AC, 4AF, 4AGE, it doesn't matter, the crossmember underneath the motor & the mounting points are the same.

A-series engine out, A-series engine back in. :)
Blue Thing AE80 Hatch - Daily
Gokai AE82 Twin-Cam Hatch - Project

View Postparrot, on 22 November 2012 - 09:17 PM, said:

Your answer is that you don't need to do this now until you can afford it. All you will get is grief, and you will hate the car.

#10 corollaparts69

corollaparts69

    New Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts
  • Online:24 Jul 2014 08:54 PM
  • Location:goodna brisbane 4300

Posted 02 November 2011 - 07:48 PM

I must agree...your mechanic is an idiot.
You will need to change your fuel tank and the fuel line(a lot easier than it sounds)and a lot easier when empty.Any ae90-92-93 corolla that is EFI will have the tank and lines you need.
You will also need to change wiring harness.As now you need a computer/ecu to run the engine.Again,easy as piss.Needs to be a 4age harness from engine bay area.Not too hard to find on ebay.
I am not too sure on the radiator.No one else has mentioned it yet.I believe it to be different.
Another thing not mentioned yet...do you have power steer? not all 4age's came with a p/steer pump attached.
The exhuast may not bolt together but it can be cut and shut easy enough.
Hope that helps.Just ask for more info.

#11 Trev

Trev

    Hachi Ni

  • Donor
  • 6674 posts
  • Online:09 Jul 2014 03:34 PM
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ipswich, Qld
  • Real Name:Trev

  • CC BY-SA (recommended)

Posted 03 November 2011 - 08:50 PM

Only time the block is different is when you go from 4af in an AE95 to a 16v 4age, the 4a and 4age 16v block has an extra boss that hits the front diff, you either grind it down or use a 4af or 20v block.

+ 1, you mechanic is a dipshit.

#12 gilly40k

gilly40k

    New Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 38 posts
  • Online:06 Nov 2012 10:40 AM
  • Gender:Male
  • Real Name:Jake

Posted 04 November 2011 - 06:42 AM

He is not my mechanic its a family friend that's been a mechanic for over 10 years and he was talking to me about my mods to my car and I said that is has a different mOtor in it. And then he said that I may have to replace k frame

#13 gilly40k

gilly40k

    New Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 38 posts
  • Online:06 Nov 2012 10:40 AM
  • Gender:Male
  • Real Name:Jake

Posted 04 November 2011 - 06:44 AM

And I am fitting power streering

#14 Trev

Trev

    Hachi Ni

  • Donor
  • 6674 posts
  • Online:09 Jul 2014 03:34 PM
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ipswich, Qld
  • Real Name:Trev

  • CC BY-SA (recommended)

Posted 04 November 2011 - 09:55 AM

Well you do know that a fwd corolla does not have a k-frame, the steering rack bolts straight to the body and there are plenty of corolla's out there making 3 times the power they did from factory with the standard mountings.

#15 gilly40k

gilly40k

    New Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 38 posts
  • Online:06 Nov 2012 10:40 AM
  • Gender:Male
  • Real Name:Jake

Posted 04 November 2011 - 12:25 PM

I don't know much about this stuff




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users