Putting A Turbo System On A 4Age 16V Small Port

chrisfindlay

Car: 1982 ke70

Engine: 4age 16v Small Port.

Gearbox: T50.

Turbo: Garret T28.

Intercooler: Stock 180sx Intercooler.

Hey guys so I am about to install my 4age 16v Small port into my Ke70, I'm just waiting on a few parts to come in and then shes ready to go. I recently Picked up a Turbo and Stock Intercooler from a 180sx, the turbo is a Garret t28.

I'm just wandering what else I need to run this setup, apart from the obvious which would be a turbo timer, boost gauge, and piping.. I'm new to ke70's, Turbos, and 4age's. Ive been told alot to buy a 4agze or 3sgze bottom end, but I'm not really keen to spend that sought of money.. If anyone knows of anybody who has done a similar setup before, feel free to fill me in about it, or post a link if hey have a thread about it.

Any post helps, and is greatly appreciated.

Cheers,

Chris.

Members dont see this ad

Google "Davey Clarke, how to 4AGTE". He's also known as D1 Davey so that might yield search results aswell. He uses a GZE but you could buy some forged pistons from Spool and would be just as effective, if not more.

He uses a T28 too I think. Should come in handy. He lays out a pretty cost effective 4AGTE setup.

4agze is a 7 rub block which is stronger than a normal 4age block. Plus a 4agze has boost cams where as a normal 4age has n/a cams. Plus 4agze doesn't have a dizzy.

180sx cooler is a waste of time, just buy a decent cooler and do it once. It's not worth the mucking around for the piping

when the intercooler is described as the following:

"Hight performance turbo racing designe"

(yes that is how its spelt)

i start to worry:P

turbo smallport, good idea, but make sure you tune is on the conservative side, ~10:1 compression isn't nice to poorly tuned turbo engines. it will explode....fast.

but 10:1 compression with a turbo would sure be fun.

a quick run down on what you will need:

-aftermarket computer