4k guru's get at me!

MrTougéTka

Gday guys, Jay here.

Complete noobie to this forum so bare with me lmao.

I recently brought a dream car of mine, 1980 Kp60 Bugeye starlie. 4k motor with twin choke single carb and Gilmore pullies. pretty standard.

But To cut a long story short.... I brought this planning to get it road worthy. It ran bloody well up until after I put a fresh wof/reg on her and did a full service.

I changed the motor n filter, gearbox, diff oils, plus coolant and air filter. The fuel pump had a slight weep from the gasket so I took it out, cleaned it up and attempted to repair it with some rtv lol. 

Then later that night when I was out she started idling quite low and rough. Almost to the point where it wouldn't idle at all!

What would of caused this? Is there anyway of mucking up refitting the fuel pump? 

Any input on this would be amazing, miss driving it already and it frustrates me that I can't just fix it.

IMG_20171031_201446.jpg

Members dont see this ad

It's pretty tricky if you're new to do without a timing light (I struggle with one ;) ) You can get them pretty cheap these days. And always useful with these old engines. heres a WiKi link, I can't really find a simple guide. It's not hard though :) It'll take a few tries of course. https://www.wikihow.com/Adjust-Timing

Edit: Does she run fine at higher revs and speed? Something may have blown into the carb while you were replacing something and blocked it, also. Check the vac lines. one could be cracked or unplugged.

Edited by SloRolla

1 hour ago, SloRolla said:

It's pretty tricky if you're new to do without a timing light (I struggle with one ;) ) You can get them pretty cheap these days. And always useful with these old engines. heres a WiKi link, I can't really find a simple guide. It's not hard though :) It'll take a few tries of course. https://www.wikihow.com/Adjust-Timing