AE82 4age lack of power

Herbs

hi guys,

i'm new to the thread/forum world. i'm after some knowledge and advice. I've picked up a nice little 1988 twin cam. it's pretty tidy and came with a few spare parts. i owned one of these years ago and it went really well. this one not as good though.

i don't know a lot of it's history, but it sounds like it was owned by a mechanic, and had a bit of a freshen up engine wise but no major mods that i know of. 

the thing is though it lacks a lot of power, it revs very poorly and when it should start to do it's thing around the 4000 rpm mark there is very little rev or power change. i haven't started playing with plugs or timing yet. it does have extractors and exhaust. standard airbox. 

the only leak it has seems to be from the dizzy.

the car runs really well but, nice and smooth although the idle it super low, below 800rpm

cheers

herbs

Members dont see this ad

hi mate, welcome to the forum. AE82 4age, fun little car.

Here is what i would check in order:

- Engine ecu codes 
-ignition timing
-clean and regap spark plugs, check dizzy cap and rotor condition
-check the TVIS solenoid is plugged in and the vac lines are in good condition
-confirm fuel pressure
-adjust TPS
-make sure MAP sensor vac line is in good condition
-Camshaft timing

If you have all of those things in order, technically you should be motoring......

thanks ke70dave. I've only ever played with old fords so a few of these things I'm going to have to do my research for this one. i love the look of the little hatch. the one i had years ago went really good but whoever had it before hand had made it that way i'm assuming. the one i have now my 4 year old could nearly run the quarter quicker (it might not be that bad haha) 

Edited by Herbs

Well there are mechanics, and then there are mechanics.  

I would do a compression check, make sure the cam timing is right, ignition timing is right & replace the fuel filter.