Is 4y Crank The Same As 3tc

jags183

Hello all, newbie here. I was reading a thread about the 2TG/3TC hybrid on here and someone mentioned that the 4Y crank can be used in the 2TG. Is it the same as the 3TC or does it have different characteristics? May well make a big difference to me as there weren't any 3TC engined cars brought to the UK as far as I am aware.

Members dont see this ad

Yes and no that the 4y crank fits. From memory the rear bearing seal has to be modified on the crank. The 4y crank will only fit the later model 2t-g due to the wider skirting around the crank (the early ones can be moded but its a hassle).

If your thinking of doing it remember a couple of things. To get the 2150cc, the bores have to be machined past the water jackets and wet liners fitted. Piston speed will be pretty high because of having to use shorter conrods which also leads to poor conrod-to-crank fitment.

If its something to shove your finger up at the plod, yeah sure go for it. But for all practical reasons sticking with the 2t/3t hybrid would be better.

Thanks for your input. The reason why I'm looking at that option is that I'm in the UK and can't get hold of a 3T crank, so I'm looking for alternatives. I've got a 2T GEU engine on twin sidedraught Solex 40s and I want to get some decent, reliable power out of it.

Any extra info or pointers will be very gratefully received.

Thanks,

J

it can be done but its a lot of work and cost. also there is a aftermarket 4y crank that is stronger according to toyspeed,

look on their website for more info regarding the 4y crank and fitament. also having such a long stroke also reduces the great revviness of the 2tg, ie its oversquare design and thats one of the best features of the small 2tg 1600 capacity engine.