7afe Head On A 4afe

SCAVMAN

i have been looking around the internet for a while trying to find info on putting a 7afe head on a 4afe. i have a few questions as i can't find too much for myself

is it a possible/easy thing to do?

are any gains that will come of it worthwhile?

i am well aware that it would be a better choice to put in a 4age,

but I'm a uni student and am not too phased if i butcher this car so i want to play with the 4afe.

Members dont see this ad
i have been looking around the internet for a while trying to find info on putting a 7afe head on a 4afe. i have a few questions as i can't find too much for myself

is it a possible/easy thing to do?

are any gains that will come of it worthwhile?

i am well aware that it would be a better choice to put in a 4age,

but I'm a uni student and am not too phased if i butcher this car so i want to play with the 4afe.

If it's a late-model 4AFE, then the heads are identical, thus no gains possible.

Might as well just put the whole 7AFE in anyway

• 3 weeks later...

I think you lot are taking my hypothetical thinking out loud as some kind of directive. All I intended it to help someone who wants to build a very hi comp 4AFE in the future.

BTW, put in a decent enough sized cam in your car and all shaving your head will do is ruin your cam timing and make it 100% necessary to run cam gears.

When you shave the head of a clockwise spinning motor you retard your camshaft timing, pushing the power band further up into the rev range. It sounds good, but just makes your motor less ping safe, harder to tune, and drives your peak torque higher.

I'm talking here about putting a big cam in a motor not about stock cams... Cam timing is one of the most crucial things to drive-ability when you're building a revver.