What To Check, And What To Overhaul.

OdinNL

Hey Guys.

I've been on here a while now, very much enjoy looking at the builds, and learning from the

discussions. I don't come from a family of mechanically talented people, and so most of my

"skills" are self taught, in a shed with a haynes manual, If I told you my first fan belt change

cost me something like 2 hours (stripped a couple bolts along the way, WD40 it up guys), you

better believe it.

But I've come a long way since then, and nowadays I'm more confident and skilled, but that

doesn't mean I'm anything without proper instructions. I'm now prepping for my biggest adventure

so far : an engine swap. changing the 3K to a 2T with a conversion set from Jordanrolla.

At first I had my mind set on "just stuff it in there and drive", but over the course of the last few

weeks, and with the winter season fast approaching (western europe) I've realised that my time

could be better spent. opening everything up and inspecting has proven to be so much fun

and interesting, that I'm looking into expanding the project a little further: giving the new 2T

a good looking after, and making sure that when I roll out of the garage next spring, everything

will be fresh and ready to go.

So far things are looking up, bores are clean and smooth, bearings are 'used' but not scored

or heavily marked. but here I notice my knowledge is lacking; what do I change, what do I check ?

if I'm flipping through the manuals I see a lot of things, but I was hoping you guys could point me

in the right direction. Now that I have time and the engine out of the car, what are the things to

look at.

Thanks guys.

Odin

Members dont see this ad

I'm doing similar with one of Jordan's kits, but going from 4K to 2TG. My engine had also been sitting for an unknown length of time, but I was assured it was previously a "runner".

When I get the engine and gearbox on a hoist (i.e. when I get the hoist) I'm replacing;

- Engine rear main seal