Alternator not charging

Jakedard

Bought new battery after last new battery died after 2 weeks of being connected only drove a little bit each week, new battery won't charge at all on old alternator so I bought a new and it had 3 terminals when the plug has 2. Either I rebuild the old one, see if it works or ʞ©$ɟ around with the new one. Can the voltage regulator if faulty, stop the alternator from charging? A lot of questions I know! I'm new to this please help

Members dont see this ad

Early Corollas had alternators with an external voltage regulator, with the regulator box on the engine bay wall.  Later Corollas had alternators, with the regulator built into the alternator itself.  It sounds like your existing alternator may have an internal regulator, & the replacement one, you've bought has an external regulator.  If you can take a picture of the terminal ends of the two alternators, we can probably work out what has happened.  The early voltage regulators used a cycling relay, whereas the internal alternator regulators are solid state. 

Put some pics up, & we'll go from there.

Cheers Banjo

Edited by Banjo
  • Upvote 1

Hi Jake,

Appears both your original & replacement alternator are both external regulator types.  The terminology is slightly different with terminal markings, from the Bosch to the Chinese replacement one.

Somewhere in your engine bay, is the original regulator, which should be best replaced with a new one, to suit the replacement alternator you have purchased.  

The common problems with these old alternators is that the brushes wear out, and reach the limits of the springs, pressing them against the slip rings.

Check out the typical alternator terminal identification listings at this website.

http://jasoceania.co.nz/sites/default/files/default_images/alternator Terminal identification guide.pdf

D+ on your old alternator is the dash charging warning light.  E on the replacement alternator is also the warning light.