HILUX DIFF FOR KE70

G'day lads and lasses. I'm relatively new to restoring cars (I've had a bit to do on some old kingswoods) but I am in the process of converting my ke70 into a speedway sedan. bigger engine, better gearbox, the works. I'm currently working out running gear for it and I'm looking at diff options. I've heard that the t18 diffs are a good option due their compatibility but I haven't been able to find any. my other option is a Hilux diff and as I want to do this properly I was chasing an opinion of someone more experienced. Could anyone tell me the best option (year, ratio) for a diff conversion. I'm pretty handy on the tools so I don't mind having to shorten it. I was just wondering where to start.

cheers

robbo

Members dont see this ad

How strong of a differential do you need? are you goin g for big power. Hilux diffs are extremely heavy, and i dont think is a wise chose ever. Really need to consider how much power you are going to make, and probably more importantly how what tire and how much of a moron you intend on driving. breaking diffs is not easy, even the oem one will put up with alot of abuse before it breaks. 

when considering ke70 diffs, remember they are the same as an ae86. here is my opinion of diffs

ke70 diff - quite strong for most NA engines, but no LSDs available. (Except i think some really really rare TRD racing ones)

ae86 Australian delivered diff - "S series" - drum brakes - no LSD options - some say weaker than the ke70 diff. but either way, not worth considering

ae86 Japanese diffs - "T series" - available with both drums and disc brakes - oem lsds available, and many aftermarket - the disc one is probably the best option for most small capacity NA engines and even high powered ones if driven with some mechanical sympathy. 

T18 diff - drum brake version of the T series above - came in the toyota T18 in Australia - good option too. bloody rare these days.