Stock 1981 Ke55 Coupe

gday guys i have a stock ke55 coupe with a stock 4k and its a 4sp man

i was just wondering if anyone could let me in on some ideas with how i can get a little more out of her as i am pretty new to all this i don't really know where to start cheers guys:)

Members dont see this ad

Definitely have a look at the FAQ, then, at the risk of sounding boring work out what you want to do and plan it!

No point turbo'ing it if you can't afford to do a good job and it fries motors all the time. Not that a replacement motor is hard to come by for these things, but if it's your only car to get to work and you're changing motors every weekend you're going to get pissed off pretty quickly. Not to mention legalities.

So, you want more out of her, in a straight line? Around corners? Do you want to take it to the track on weekends? Drags? Most importantly, what's your budget, and how much do you know about working on cars??

Give us a bit more info and I'm sure the heads around here can give you some good ideas, but only after you read the FAQ a few times! :hmm:

how much would it cost to turbo?

If you have to ask how much it'd cost, the short answer is "too much"

Like Snot says... work out what you want to do with it first...for example if you did want to have a fast blast down the quarter, and don't mind replacing engines every weekend, then turbo might be the way to go. can swap over all the bolt on stuff, and the engine only has to last 400m...

If you are looking for a reliable streeter with a little extra for cheap, have a look at bolting up a 3K head to raise compression and run premium fuel and a cam grind.

Keen for a street sleeping falcodore eater, and don't mind spending a bit, have a look at all the info there is relating to 4A engine swaps.

The possibilities are endless...