Ke70 4K Won't Start ?? Help

Pawlyke70

Hey guy I'm new to the corolla seen !!

I have just brought a ke70 not running,

The last owner said he was just driving along then it died an he could never get it started agian,

I have checked and it's getting spark and it wining over just not starting last owner replace the coil and leads and spark plugs but still didn't work,

I'll be replacing the points and dizzy in the next couple of days.

Is there anything else it could be other then these things ?? Yes the car does have petrol as we'll lol so yea cheers any help will be great thanks

Members dont see this ad
  • Replies 33
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

coil and leads and spark plugs but still didn't work, .............points and dizzy

That pretty well covers all the ignition, especially if you are getting spark at the plugs. Just check the timing in case it got lost when somene was working on the motor. When you buy points buy a condensor, but if you're getting spark when you crank it all that ignition stuff is OK.

Check the fuel cutoff solenoid on the carb, that stops fuel getting into the idle circuit when it loses 12V. It should 'click' when you turn on the ignition. I reckon that is the most likely problem.

Take off the air cleaner and watch down the carb throat while you flip the throttle wide open. You should see a jet of petrol from the accelerator pump go down the throat. If you can see that then the carb float bowl has fuel and probably the fuel pump is fine.

We'll today I brought new point and still nothing I replaced the coil agian still nothing but this time I'm not getting spark from the coil ???

And the power wire from the coil to the dizzy melted so I have tried anything else yet don't wanna start a fire lol

Anyone know a solution ??

And the power wire from the coil to the dizzy melted