Workshop Manual

peterd

I'm very new at this mechanics stuff. Ive been playing around with my 4k and I've successfully serviced the auto transmission and changed the head gasket so far.

I'm working my way through the tuning now.

I've got the gregory's manual and the yellow toyota 4k manual. (which you can download here http://www.retrojdm.com/ScanView.asp?ScanID=29 )

The toyota yellow book is very clear, the gregory's not so good.

I've found that they assume you know the basic stuff. Can anyone recommend a good generic workshop manual to teach me the basic stuff?

thanks

Members dont see this ad

To start with tuning cannot be done with poor or inferior parts. It is impossible and will only lead you to complete and utter failure. FAILURE!!! Follow the destructions before you and your path will become clear.

Key phuck up areas are distributor out of sync and vacuum leaks.

Distributor/ignition:

Make sure all distributor leads are in awesome condition. As well as the rotor bottom and distributor cap. Spark plugs gapped to 0.8mm. All must be awesome. Coil must be good as well as your ballast resistor if you've got one.

Set your awesome condition breaker points gap to 0.45mm with the rubbing block on the high point of the distributor shaft as pictured.

post-8643-0-38024200-1414399320_thumb.jpg

Carburettor/ fuel system:

Again, all in top condition. Fuel filter, pump and carburettor. New fuel lines are awesome, as are carb rebuild kits.

Home brand filters and regular unleaded are not awesome. Don't use either. In the below image you will see 2 screws.

The screw on the base of the 'item' pictured is the idle mixture screw. It's base setting is 2 turns out from seated. Screw it in till is seats softly then back 2 turns out. Unless you've phucked around with the idle jet inside the carburettor this setting will not change.

The screw at the linkage is obviously the idle speed screw. This base setting is 1 & 1/2 turns in from contact with the throttle linkage.