4Agze Big Or Small Port

JedzWagn

Hi I found an early model transverse mount jdm spec 4agze from an ae92 Levin with about 85k on it. Incl. wiring loom factory IC etc.

It's been sitting in a garage for about 10 years...

So I thought it was high time to bite the bullet & put it into my ae95 4wd wagon.

So can anyone tell me if mine's a big or small port??

How do I tell... & W'sTF-ing difference when I put the pedal to the metal?

Members dont see this ad

Thanks for poppin in guys,

So I'm new to all this, MAP is what? Manifold Air Pressure??

&

I'm guessing AFM is.. Air Flow Meter??

Does it make any difference

So can anyone provide - general consensus type - information on the pros & cons of the big port..

Sounds good to me - (sure I'm bias I just bought the bloody thing!) but... my basic reasoning is big port = higher rate of flow through the engine, meaning good top end power & the super charger should take care of the lower end.

In any case it'll be a big improvement on the 4afe.

Thanks for the link NZ:

Quote "AE92 uses DLI ignition (wasted spark with crank angle sensor and twin coil packs), also has 7-rib block End Quote

I read his other thread on DLI ignition good write ups..

Can some one provide more detail on 'wasted spark w/ crank angle sensor??

the MAP (Manifold Absolute Pressure) sensor versions have a small black box that is attached to the inlet manifold by a rubber pipe. (This pipe lets the sensor sample the inlet manifold air pressure) The MAP sensor usually sits on the firewall, and looks like this -

post-11496-075454900 1289680432_thumb.jpg

The AFM (air flow meter) sits between the throttle body and the air cleaner. The AFM is simply a sprung flap that swings back more and more as the engine sucks more air, thus making more power. looks like this -

post-11496-035465000 1289680587_thumb.jpg