Ripped Off On Ke10 Sl Gear Knob?

mattress

I recently purchase what was advertised as a KE10 SL gear knob from a member of this forum. I received the item and after a day or two I decided to compare it with the brochure I have showing the optional SL interior package (gear knob, steering wheel and dash).

Quite clearly the item on the left is different to the brochure. I told the seller I felt the item was not what he advertised it as. He swears black and blue that the item is indeed a genuine from Toyota SL knob.

post-1914-0-79360600-1420842334_thumb.jpg

Then while doing some googling i found the following...

mRPR7u4wpqfFuP88qRkdr7Q.jpg

Now I'm no expert on the subject but it looks as though I've been sold an AMCO item.

So I throw this out to anyone with more knowledge on the subject than myself. Were these ever fitted to Corollas as an SL option?

Members dont see this ad

There might be a difference in meaning between "what the car left the factory with" and "what the seller took out of a KE10". There was a good 35years or more for someone along the way to fit an AMCO to their KE10, then the car got sold several times.

Looks like you're right though, not a factory one.

I bought my XX KE70 with this one, genuine imitation wood. Steve reckons its aftermarket, I'm sure they all came with it stock...

post-7544-0-65365600-1420853965_thumb.jpg

I suspected as much, I just wanted some confirmation. I was hoping you'd stop by for a comment Parrot.

The seller got quite defensive when questioned (not accused) of selling me an item not as advertised. I am partially to blame as I didn't consult my brochure and comparing before committing to buy.

Altezzaclub, I should add that this item is brand new with a part number sticker still attached so it has never been fitted to a car. Therefore I guess it can't be confused as an original fitment.

Edited by mattress